internally panicking

blueveronica    
Go to solution Solved by Monsoon,

I am currently a college student trying to find housing for next year. the people i initially was going to live in an apartment with turned toxic and cliquey, so I decided yesterday to find other people to live with. This has been really anxiety inducing and a tough decision (though I know it's for the better). It would have been more convenient to live with those people because I already know all of them, but I know it wouldn't be good for my mental health. I put out a message on my school's social platform that I was looking for roommates, and I'm feeling restless because no one has messaged me yet even though it has only been two days. I have until May 18th or so to get a group, but the thought of possibly not getting housing is eating at my soul. I have also decided I don't want to be friends with two of the people in that group. I've had a feeling for months now that these are not my kind of people and they are too abrasive and negative for me. I want to distance myself from them, but I have most of my classes in common with one of them, we live on the same floor, and we have spent a lot of time together this academic year. How do I slowly reduce my time with them without making things awkward?

Hey there,

I'm glad you've decided to move out and find other people to live with. I completely get why this would give you anxiety though because it's a lot of change isn't it, and I can imagine that you might be worrying that you end up with tricky housemates again. What do you think? With finding new housemates, I'm wondering, if it comes to it, would you be able to live alone for a bit or maybe even move into accommodation with an existing group who have a spare room? 

Also, I'm sorry to hear about the two friends who are abrasive and negative. I think that to distance yourself, it would be good to maybe message them less over time and hang out with others more. Would that work?