This topic contains content which has been flagged with warnings, as follows: Abuse

Blackmail

Mukosham    

Hey @Mukosham

Thank you for reaching out to us for advice. I'm one of the digital mentors here and I give support to the community members here. 

I just want to ask, is the person being threatened you? I have a lot of experience in supporting people who are being blackmailed, and it is important to never pay the blackmailer money. The best thing you can do is to block the person who is asking for money and report them to the police. Once they are blocked, they often realise they are not going to get the money, and that is the only reason they are doing it. Therefore, they tend to move on and forget. Also, I'm wondering, did the threat happen on Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, Snapchat, Twitter, Tumblr, or YouTube? If so, we may be able to have the account reported and removed. 

I hope to hear back from you soon. 

digital-mentor.png.37594766624d87064910e

We first start charting with a person on Facebook and then went to WhatsApp , he threatening me on Whatsapp, I have blocked him and I not heard anything I don't if is waiting for the said or what.  How can I move on 

Hey there,

Unfortunately, we cannot report them to Whatsapp, but if any threats do get made on Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, Snapchat, Twitter, Tumblr, or YouTube, please send us screenshots and both of your usernames/links to profiles to support@ditchthelabel.org - with the screenshots, take care to block out any nude content before sending them. 

I'm really pleased to hear that you have blocked him; generally, the more time that passes between blocking and not hearing anything, the more likely it is that nothing will happen. It is common for the individual to move onto someone else, and this is because they realise they won't get the money they want. What do you think about that?