This topic contains content which has been flagged with warnings, as follows: Disordered Eating

What To Do If I Suspect My Friend Has an Eating Disorder?

Sputnik    

This post has been flagged with warnings, as follows: Disordered Eating

Click this notice to reveal the content.

So this is my first time posting, so I'm sorry if I get anything wrong.

I know this person in my school because we are in the Drama Club together. We aren't very close, but we're pretty cool with each other since we were friends first year. She's very insecure about herself, but it seems to have worsened since her boyfriend cheated on her while training to be in the Navy. Before this, she'd always comment on old pictures of herself looking "fat" when she wasn't overweight, more average, if anything. She's skinny now, not skeletal thin, but like regular skinny. I just brushed it off as her exaggerating until a few days ago. There was going to be a bake sale after school, and we talked about the things we were going to buy, and she said, "Nah, I better not buy anything. I'm getting so fat, so I'm dieting." We all told her she looked fine, but she just blew us off. My dad is a coach, so I told her what he told me about when and how to diet, but she said she was fine. She also mentions that she often goes to the YMCA in our town nearly every day.

I'm worried about her now. I can't say 100% she has an ED, but it seems like it. I've experienced having an ED before, and I don't want her to go down the same path. At the same time, I don't want to narc her or claim she's doing something she's not. What should I do? Am I just overthinking all of this?

• Hug 1

Aurora
This post was recognized by Aurora!

Megs- was awarded the badge 'Great Advice' and 20 points.

This post has been flagged with warnings, as follows: Disordered Eating

Click this notice to reveal the content.