Chaotic attempts at understanding my sexuality

Truetruepikachu    

Hi,

So I have been struggling a lot recently with coming to terms with the fact that I might not be straight, but I'm also not sure if I'm just convincing myself I'm gay because most of my friends are??

I have never had a crush before and because of this I think I might be demi aro/ace?  I talked to my friend about it and that was the conclusion we came up with, because I still want to have a romantic relationship, I just don't feel the romantic attraction without forming a strong connection first.  Even my (kind of homophobic) sister told me I was probably demi, which was very affirming for me :) However, I have been convincing myself that I am straight for around 3 years, even though I think I might not be, because I feel as though I cannot let my life be that difficult.  Coming from a very Christian, very homophobic family has definitely left me with internalised homophobia towards myself, but I don't know how to 'fix' it.  I am very close with my family and the idea of not being accepted is really hard for me.  This doesn't change the fact that I am interested in both genders, and I think I might lean more towards girls (the same gender as me).

This questioning was furthered as one of my closest friends came out as bi, with a girlfriend who is pan.  I was honestly so happy for them which made me stop and question, the same friend had a boyfriend a few months before and I was not this happy when she told me.  This left me confused and questioning my sexuality, and why this representation in my life meant to much to me when I've been telling myself that I am straight for years. 

I'm putting this out there on the internet in the hopes that someone who has been through a similar experience in some way can reach out and help me figure out what the heck is going on with me :)

Hey @Truetruepikachu

Welcome. I'm one of the digital mentors here and I give advice to those who reach out to us.