Questioning

OutdoorEnthusiast13    

I grew up in a Christian family and I consider myself a Christian, but I've recently found that I might be bi-curious (I hope I'm using the term properly because I'm very new at this). I've just been having trouble with how okay it feels versus how wrong I have been taught it is to feel this way. So I guess I'm just wondering if anybody else is or has been in a similar situation?

Hey @OutdoorEnthusiast13

I just saw your other post - welcome to our community :). I'm one of the digital support mentors here and I give advice to our members.

So I see that you've found out that you might be bi-curious and that you're struggling a bit. I'm wondering, how are you feeling about potentially being bi-curious?

digital-mentor.png.37594766624d87064910e

@Monsoon Thanks, I’m really excited to be here! I’m honestly not sure how to feel about it, I guess confused is the best way I could put it. I don’t feel like any part of me has changed, but I am glad to know more about me. I’m more struggling with it not agreeing with my religion, and I don’t really have anybody that I could talk with about this internal struggle.

Hey@OutdoorEnthusiast13

When you say you're struggling with it not agreeing with your religion, could you tell us a little bit more about your internal struggle with this? Religion is soooo complex and it can change the way we feel about our own sexuality. It can also make us fearful of potentially not being accepted by others around us who follow the same religion. Also, just know that we are here to help you through this - you are not alone :)

Ya of course. So I am a Christian and because of that, I had the mindset that it was not right for a man to be in a relationship with a man, or a woman to be with another woman. Obviously, there are a lot of other beliefs that I have because of my Christianity, but that is the main one I am struggling with.