How can I best support a colleague who is being bullied?

grace50    

One of my colleagues has mentioned that she feels sick every Sunday as she dreads coming to work on a Monday as one of her colleagues is bullying her. No-one else is aware of the bullying but I completely believe that it is taking place. I am new to the team but am a line manager of both people.

I want to support both people and I want to get it right from the start.

Any advice?

Many thanks

• 1 month later...

Hi Grace50,

*This is another response on your support request-- in moving to our new Community sofware, some responses were lost in the process. Thank you for your patience during this time that Community has been inaccessible.*

Thank you for showing initiative in helping your colleague. You're in a unique position of being able to help both these individuals. And, as you know, it needs to be addressed.

Have you spoken to your supervisors and/or human resources manager about how to address this between the two? It's so important for it to be acknowledged and worked through sooner rather than later. You want two amazing workers on your line, and a safe place is the best way to assure that happens.

Has the colleague who spoke to you experienced bullying in the past? Has this bullying triggered previous emotional trauma?

-willow

This Digital Mentor Account is no longer active.

• 2 weeks later...

Hey Grace50, that sounds like a super tough one.