This topic contains content which has been flagged with warnings, as follows: Hate, Mental Illness, Sexual Assault & Rape, Suicide, Trauma

Hi

brighteyes    

This post has been flagged with warnings, as follows: Hate, Mental Illness, Sexual Assault & Rape, Suicide, Trauma

Click this notice to reveal the content.

My nickname is Cam, pronouns are he/they, I'm American, and I'm a writer (mostly just fanfiction rn). What brings me here is that I came out as bi a few years ago and my religious mom and brother rejected that. That happened the same year that I had been sexually assaulted and I felt shamed by someone I trusted who told me that I shouldn't have gone to the police, essentially defending my abuser.

I didn't expect them to say that and I blamed myself. I was afraid to leave my apartment, even to go out and do my laundry, and moved out a few years ago. The cops never got back to me, there was no evidence of the assault, it was treated as a he said/she said thing (I was born female and identified with my gender assigned at birth during that time). 

The landlord couldn't kick my abuser out since the cops didn't/couldn't prove that the assault happened. I'm currently in therapy and trying to heal from that, and I'm healing gradually.

As a result of those massive stressors happening around the same time, I had committed myself to a local psychiatric ward (again) for suicidal thoughts (again), and that all happened within the past four years. I wanted to die, and my point: what brings me here is that the rejection from my family haunts me like a ghost clinging to me. 

I have found family and friends online who have helped, alongside getting my PTSD and other mental health problems treated by my psychiatrist and talking to my therapist helps. I just want to let go of the fact that my mom and brother think that I'm going to hell for being LGBT. They don't know that I struggle with my gender identity, and I don't want them to know.