A friend in need

Daphne    

My friend grew up in a family where she was emotionally abused by her biological father just because she was the only girl. Her mother have been the mute spectator of the situation and done nothing to help the girl. At a certain point she was raped by her uncle and no action was taken. She's currently going through maniac depression and can't control her anger. She started cursing the people who hurt her and wish them death. It's been 18 years of the abuse and she can't take it anymore. I referred her for therapy but she isn't ready to listen. How do I help her? please help, I really can't see her in this condition.

I'm no expert, but I would go to the local authorities and tell them what is happening. Rape is very illegal, and so is abuse. If you can, maybe try to arrange for your friend to stay at your place for a while. But I would definitely tell the police. This is not ok and should not be happening to people. It's unfair

She isn't willing to report anything nor is she willing to seek therapy, and I can't take such a step without her consent. She's kind of addicted to her pain and isn't ready to seek help. I'm her only support system and doing something behind her back will definitely hurt her the most.

Try to get her out of the bad environment (for a walk, to get food, etc.), and talk to her when she is in a rational state of mind. Try to help her understand that this situation needs professional help. I understand that you dont want to go behind her back, but worst comes to worst, you have to tell someone (Preferably the police). She may feel hurt at the time, but you know that it is for the greater good, correct? Try messaging Remi, a digital monitor on this site. She has good advice.

Hello @Daphne,

Your friend sounds like she has gone through a lot of trauma that she should know was not her fault at all.