How can I love the person I am now, until I become the person I want to be?

nailpolishstains

I sit around all day because my city is boring so there's nothing to do, and I wish I could be more active. I haven't found my own style yet, because I always feel like I'm copying someone, and I wish to be social because I love people, but I am a sophomore in high school, and I have been suffering social anxiety since 6th grade and I don't know how to overcome it. I feel like I'm always waiting for things to happen and I'm not doing anything with my young life. Like I'm just existing. I know my life has purpose, but right now I feel like it's being wasted away. I spent most of my summer in my room drawing or watching Youtube, and I just wish I could experience life's fullest treasures! But I can't drive, or make my own money, so I can't really go anywhere. I don't know who I am in life yet. I feel like my childhood was boring and depressing and I could've made way more friends. I'm scared of the future and I could forget how bad the past was. How can I take control of my life and try new things and meet new people if I'm scared of conversation? I feel just stuck.

Hey Nailpolishstains, ??

Big welcome to Ditch the Label.

I so relate to your post and thanks for sharing. I felt very similar things when I was younger too. Especially that feeling of not doing enough, living enough, having enough friends and the list goes on. I think it is so easy to imagine everyone else is out there doing and living their lives in better ways then you are. The good news is that simply is not true, whilst people's lives do vary I guarantee if your friends where honest they would all admit to feeling similar things. Plus, like you said it will feel even stronger because right now you don't have much independence yet but that will come soon I promise. ??